Q & A (with Ella)

by Faith

Enjoy this third installment in our Q & A series, when I interview a family member on their birthday.

Ella self photo

Eight years ago we welcomed Ella Rose into our family. Ella is our only daughter, the third child in our family, and what a precious gift she is.  After having had two boys, I was praying very much to have a little girl.  I wanted a daughter to share in the joys of girlhood with, and to pass on the lessons of womanhood to.  I needed a comrade in a home of testosterone overload!  By God’s gracious hand my prayers were answered.

Ella, having two older brothers, yet being the only girl, is a wonderful mixture of princess and tomboy.  She loves to dress up, make herself pretty, then go out and run around outside with her brothers.  She has a competitive streak and doesn’t let much stop her.  She is opinionated, strong and independent, yet caring and kind.  She is self-confident and doesn’t really worry too much about what others think of her.  I see this lived out mostly in the outfits she chooses on a daily basis (with parent approved pieces) and in the classroom, where her teachers say she doesn’t let girl drama get to her.

Silas and Quinn kissing Ella

She is not our most talkative child, yet at bedtime she suddenly has a need to talk.  She loves the ritual of both her mommy and daddy singing and praying with her before saying goodnight.  This time is, almost every night, closed with her saying “best mom/dad in the world” and we always answer back with “best daughter”!  She loves her mommy and daddy with all her heart.  Sometimes this has caused her concern and she asks if it’s wrong for her to love her mom and dad more than Jesus.  Yet her heart is so soft towards her Savior and she is learning what it means to follow Him.  She is a joy and she is beautiful on the inside and out!

Ella and Jesse 2

I was able to catch up with Ella, for our interview, after school while she was enjoying her usual after school snack, a clementine (which she declined at first, because I think she was so excited about our interview).

Hey Ella!  I need to interview you for your birthday!


Are you excited to be interviewed for your birthday?

Uh huh!

What is your favorite color?

Um, I have to say a few favorite colors, so can I do that?  Red, green, orange, pink, purple, white and blue.  Those are all my favorites.

If you could keep only one thing, out of all the things you have, what would you keep?

My family.  Oh, you mean out of my toys?  I thought you were talking about everything.  I would keep my Beautiful Girlhood doll.  Her name was Jubilee, but I changed it to Laura.

Why Laura?

Because I like Laura Ingalls Wilder.

I like that.  What is your favorite thing to have for breakfast?

Hmmm, well I have two absolute favorites.  Daddy’s blueberry pancakes and Reese Puff cereal.

What is your favorite thing to have for dinner?

Taco Salad.

Do you like school?

Yes, very much.

What is your favorite subject?

I like reading the most.

When you grow up who do you want to be like?

You.  You are kind and smart and funny.  You make awesome food and you teach us stuff.

Closeup Ella and Mommy

Thank you honey!

Your welcome.

What is your favorite book?

I have lots of favorites.  I can’t choose just one.

You can share more than one.

Ok.  Ramona, Little House on the Prairie books, Rose books (Laura Ingalls Wilder’s daughter), Sacagawea.  I liked when you read The Penderwicks with me.  And I like Swallows and Amazons too.

How would you describe your family?

Nice.  Funny.  Silly.  Not to be mean, but kinda weird.  Smart.  My family teaches me things.  Makes me laugh.

Anything else?

Nothing that I can think of.

What is something you would like to learn to do?

A backbend.

(As we are interviewing, after she is done with her snack, she leans over the side of her bed backwards and says that she can think better that way!)

Tell me three words that best describe you.

Silly.  Do you think I’m pretty?


Ok, pretty.  And good.

What is your favorite movie?

Tangled and Wreck It Ralph.

What is your favorite thing to do in your free time?

Play with my doll.

Who is your best friend?

You know that!!  Rory!!

February 2013 015

What do you think about moving to Mexico?

Sad and happy.

Why sad?

Because I will miss all my friends and family.  Well extended family basically.

Why happy?

Because I will make friends and meet new people and go to the candy store every day!

(Ella has a big sweet tooth!  In fact, she has said once that her sweet tooth is as big as her body!)

Ok, last question!  What would you like to be when you grow up?

Either a….I have a couple of things.  A police officer, an Olympic gymnast, a zookeeper or a veterinarian.

Ella with a bunny at the New Albany Classic

Thank you Ella!

Your welcome.

I love you.

I love you too.

As always we love to hear comments or questions for the birthday girl!  It’s fun for them to hear from lots of people on their birthday.

Thanks so much for reading!

This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Q & A (with Ella)

  1. Debbie Beckett says:

    I liked your interview Ella Bella! It was so fun to hear your answers and they made me smile. Why? (I know you will ask, because you always ask questions! That is how you learn and I love that about you too) Your answers made me smile because they are painting a picture of Ella with your words! And pictures of you make me smile. You will always be our Ella most Bella.. . .in and out Grammy and Papaw

  2. Pat Scholz says:

    Happy Birthday to you Ella! My granddaughter and I are doing a “book club”, she is 8. We are on the first book of the Little House Series-“Little House in the Big Woods”, we read a chapter a week and then discuss it. It seems we have something in common with you. From the interview with your mom it sounds like you are somewhat like Laura Ingalls Wilder. She went on big adventures throughout her life and seemed to be a godly woman, so I think that you are on your way to big adventures also and learning to follow God from your mom & dad (like Laura). Love, Pat Scholz

  3. Jorge Marquez says:

    We loved it!

    Now I feel I want your taco salad :(

    Please say hola to all for us.

    We love your family,

    Jorge & Caron

    Date: Sat, 30 Mar 2013 12:01:46 +0000 To: jorcho7@hotmail.com

    • Why do you want Mommy’s taco salad?! I love my family too! I will say hola for you!

      Caron & Jorge,
      We think of you both often. Know that you are an encouragement to us and it is a joy to see you where you have wanted to be for so long. We love you!

  4. Nana says:

    That’s my girl! Yes, Ella, you are pretty – God gave you that gift. Your gift to Him is to learn to be beautiful inside. Your mom is doing a great job teaching you how to do that. I love you!!! I will be sad when you move to Mexico, too. It’s okay to be sad but we can talk to God about it. I know that God will be with both of us and that will keep us close. I love you!

  5. Celeste Guess says:

    Wow! What a fabulous interview!! Happy Birthday, Ella!!! I don’t think we’ve officially met, but just know you have one of the coolest mommies ever :) I’ll be praying for you when you move. I know you’ll be sad at first, but before long it’s going to feel like home. I hope your birthday was extra special!!!

Leave a Reply

